How can anybody not like that game?

February 21, 2006

USA-Russia was a wonderful hockey game, one of the best if not the best you’ll see all year. THAT’s what I was talking about!

A.J. Bozoian’s MRI came back negative on his back. He won’t play tomorrow at Flint, but they expect him to play on Friday.

As for the disputed goal in Saturday’s Flint game, I asked David Franke who at the time asked UHL Supervisor of Officials Jerry Pateman who was at the game. According to Franke, Pateman said if the goalie’s mask is knocked off, once his team recovers the puck, then the whistle has to blow. The ruling was that Flint’s J.P. Morin had touched the puck on a rebound before he deflected it directly to a Fort Wayne player. The referee blew the whistle as soon as Morin touched the puck, even though he might not have had complete control of it. It was a safety issue. You can argue over whether Morin had control, but he did touch the puck.

Here’s a couple of other rules interpretations that drive me crazy when fans scream thinking they know the rule. I’m expecting most of you to know them, though, since you have obviously been going to games for quite a while. It’s not too many men on the ice unless the team with too many men is touching the puck. Players can also hand pass the puck in or out of their own zone. They just can’t do it in neutral ice or in the offensive zone.

Anybody else got any other rules interpretations like that which they see?

Advertisements

24 Responses to “How can anybody not like that game?”

  1. PM Says:

    It drive me crazy when people don’t know what a “offside” is. It does not matter where they take a pass, even if their stick is over the blue line. All that matters is the skate is touching any part of the blue line when they receive the pass.
    Too many time people yell “OFFSIDES” when it is really not.

  2. Mark Says:

    Thanks Blake for throwing that up…

    It must of been a quick touch for Morin, because I sit on that end of the Ice and didn’t see it..

  3. Blake Says:

    Good one PM. Got any more?

  4. Mark Says:

    I hate it when people yell shoot when all player could do is put it in the feet of the defender 3 ft in front of him…lol that drives me crazy

  5. The Solecist's Redeemer Says:

    lol,now that drives me crazy.

  6. Unit Says:

    I have discussed this one for years. I really feel like a moron for not knowing it, but I haven’t found anyone else that does either. I’m sure someone here will.(Drum roll please….)Why do they kick guys out of the face-off. It seems like a totally subjective thing that certain officials do frequently, while others never do. I have never been able to catch anything that consistently results in it. Any thoughts??

  7. Blake Says:

    This is from a 2001 interview with Wade Stuckey:

    One thing Komets fans always seem to have a problem with is when the linesmen are slow to drop the puck on faceoffs. There’s a reason. “There’s a procedure,” UHL linesman Wade Stuckey said. “The visitor has to be square and put his stick down first, and then the home team has to be square and put their stick down. It’s about fairness. Nobody gets an advantage with the way the hashes are drawn, but the players have to follow them.” When a player doesn’t, that’s when the linesmen hold the puck longer.

    Or they throw them out.

  8. Hoss Says:

    Or when a player jumps into the face off circle too soon, or glides in to cut off another guy first, or talks about the ref’s ma’ma!

  9. Blake Says:

    Speaking from personal experience there, Hoss? Which side of it were you on, the talker or the one being talked about? LOL

  10. Unit Says:

    Guess that explains that. I now officially know everything. Hahahahahaha. Seriously though thanks. Any thoughts on the inconsistency between officials on calling it? Guess it’s not a surprise. Seems to be inconsistency on most aspects. Without getting on a million line rant, I really don’t mind bad calls that much, as long as, the game is being called consistently.

  11. dnlkomets Says:

    Can someone explain to me what the UHL’s stance is on boarding? What they seem to call and what I’ve always known boarding as is two different things.

  12. blake Says:

    Give us some examples DNL.

  13. Janice Says:

    I know the rule but every one else always forgets about it, can you explain the rule of hand pass and how it is legal if a player does it in his own defensive zone.

  14. AJ Says:

    Can anyone pleeeeeeeeeease explain intentional offsides to me? It’s not called all that often, but when it is, no one I sit near can tell me what it is.

  15. Stripe-11 Says:

    AJ’s question in the UHL Rulebook.

    Intentional Offsides: Rule 74.D Pg 85.

    The quick and dirty is:
    – A player knows he is offsides and plays the puck anyway.
    – A skater with the puck sees a team mate that is definitely offsides and he skates the puck into the zone or passes to the offsides player.
    – A player purposely lags back in the offensive zone (s/he could be taunting a player, goalie, etc) and the play comes back into the zone, given the offsides player had enough time to leave the zone.

    The result of an int. offside call is face-off is dropped at deep circle in the violating team’s defensive zone.

  16. Stripe-11 Says:

    Janice’s Question in the UHL Rulebook.

    Handling Puck with Hands: Rule 59.E Pg 69&70.

    Basically you can always knock the puck down with your glove if it is in the air.

    Now if you are in your defensive zone you can do what you want with an airborne puck except close your hand on it and throw it. IE you can catch it, then IMMEDIATELY drop it to yourself to play. You can strike with your glove anywhere or to anyone. Even if you are lying on the ice and sweep your hand to push the puck away is a legal maneuver. Once you are in the neutral zone or offensive zone, all “hands are off” (hehe, pun, couldn’t help myself)

    You can glove an airborne puck down or bat it to yourself, but you either must be the first player on your team to touch the puck with your stick/skates OR it must have been done with no intension of getting it to a team mate or knocking it out of play (over the glass, boards, ect). If you glove a puck down and the other team touches the puck first, the hand pass is washed out. Same rules apply if you are down on the ice and push the puck with your hand.

    On a similar note, you never are allowed to close your hand on the puck and hold it or skate with it. And you can’t pick it up off the ice with your hand. Both result in a 2min minor – closing hand on puck penalty.

  17. Stripe-11 Says:

    One call I always hear yelling about and am explaining at games is if the blue line is in or out on an offsides call.

    If the puck is in the neutral zone, the blue line is neutral zone ice.

    If the puck is in the offensive zone the line is offensive zone ice.

  18. Stripe-11 Says:

    DNL see UHL Rulebook for this one, it’s really a hard call to make because the word “Violent” isn’t always easy to define.

    Anyway it’s Rule 44.A-D.

    It says if a hit is made and the player is violently forced into the boards it’s boarding. If an injury occures, it’s an auto major penalty. it doesn’t get called a whole lot because it is a serious offense. Typically unless a player is hit from behind, or pushed head first into the boards it goes as a rough or a charge. hope this helps but unless you’re watching film it’s hard to define.

  19. Skate Says:

    Have they changed the rule on icing? It used to be that if the puck travelled through the goal crease, icing was waived off. Now they don’t seem to call it that way.

    Second, if the rule has NOT been changed, what about a shot from the far side of center ice that flies OVER the net, but breaks the plane of the goal crease extending to the ceiling (or to infinity, if you prefer.)

  20. Stripe-11 Says:

    Skate – I’m assuming the UHL follows the USA Hockey interpretation. The UHL Rulebook does not address these instance.

    I pulled out my USA Hockey casebook for 2005-2007 and the case asks if a puck is iced but lands on top of the net, is icing called.

    The answer is “yes”. Because the puck crossed the goal line, even though it landed on the net, icing is called. Of course if it went in the goal it’s a goal.

    Also to add to this, keep in mind the red line is considered in-play, meaning the entire 3″ diameter of the puck must cross the line for a goal or an icing to be called. I know I’ve been asked this at games before.

    This was a good question.

  21. Blake Says:

    Stripe-11, thanks for pitching in. Feel free to add as much as you like.

  22. Skate Says:

    Thanks for the clarification. What about if it travels through the goal crease? Is icing negated?

  23. dnlkomets Says:

    Thanks Stripe that helps. The way it is worded it leaves room for gray area on boarding. I guess thats why the way I always played it and how the refs sometimes call it is a little different. The way I’ve ever played it is if the hit was both violent and unneccessary it was called. If it was a good hit it was just a good hit no matter how much it hurt. But if it was unneccessary or clearly shown the only intention was to hurt someone then it was boarding. By the way its written in the rulebook for the UHL it only needs to be violent.

  24. Stripe-11 Says:

    That rule if the puck passes throught the crease was suspended a while ago. I don’t remember when exactly. If you have to know I can find out. Another interesting point on this topic is if the puck is iced, then it stikes a goal post, then rolls past the goal line, icing is still to be called.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: