The Komets’ captain is…

October 11, 2006

Guy Dupuis and the assistants are J.C. Ruid and Mario Larocque. They were selected by the coaching staff. Interesting piece of trivia: Guy will be the first and only player to be the Komets’ captain in both the IHL and the UHL. No other IHL Komets’ captain is still active as a player.

46 Responses to “The Komets’ captain is…”

  1. Tony E Says:

    Not a surprise.
    A good choice both for the lockeroom and as a “public face” for the franchise this season.

  2. Bob Says:

    I agree. Guy did a really nice job when he wore the “C” before. Congratulations, Guy! I know that he’ll be an excellent leader of this hockey club. Also, congratulations to J.C and Mario for their appointments as Assistants.

  3. imsmithkaiser Says:

    Not a surprise to me also. It was a very good pick. Guy always goes out of his way to help anyone. A good role model. I am not to prejudice he is my favorite player for the Komets. Congratulations Guy, J.C & Mario. Good choices,thanks coaching staff. It is going to be a great season. GO KOMETS!!!!!

  4. Mark Says:

    Nice, not bad choices…I kinda figured Guy would be the coach although, I thought Ruid had a chance also..Guy is a fixture of the Fort Wayne Komets…an excellent choice..

  5. Mark Says:

    actually that should say Captain..not coach…

  6. Greg Says:

    Good choices all around.

  7. Melissa Says:

    Good Choice for Captain. He would have been my choice.

    Congrats Guy!

  8. Tony E Says:

    Well this is no fun LOL! What is up with everyone agreeing?!?!? 🙂

  9. komets29fan Says:

    I was hoping that they were going to pick Guy. Congrats!!

  10. hobo Says:

    dang and i wanted la ROCK to be the Captain

  11. Jeff Says:

    Guy will do a great job as captain.

    Naming Larocque and Ruid as alternates are both interesting choices. Not surprising that both are veterans, but interesting from standpoint that both are new to the team. I have no doubt they will do a fine job as well.

    Congrats guys! Can’t wait for the jungle to rock Oct. 21!

  12. Stripe-11 Says:

    Congrats to all three of them. I’m not putting any of them down, but I thought that Richardson was initially signed to fill one of the leadership rolls. I’m sure the right guys were picked, I just find it odd he was left out. Not that it matters much in the long run. The leaders will lead with or without an extra letter on his chest.

    – Jamey

  13. Greg Says:

    Couple of comments for stripe-11, Jeff, and Tony.

    Stripe-11: As Richardson is the Asst. coach he is not allowed to wear the “C” or the “A”.

    Jeff- Ruid and Laroque were picked because of their past history with Bingham.

    Tony-First time for anything.

  14. Nanci Says:

    I am so excited for Guy!!! That’s an amazing choice on the Komets behalf.. Horray for Guy (buy my jersey) Dupuis!!!

  15. Teresa Says:

    They picked the best man for the job! Congratulations, Guy!

  16. Laurie Says:

    Congrats, Guy, Mario, and J.C.! You guys deserve it!

  17. Tony E Says:

    So here is a question to throw out there for Blake and the masses…(ugh maybe I DON’T know everything…ssshhh don’t tell Jim)
    Can a team pay a player assistant a coaching salary on top of his player salary which would not go against the salary cap? It would only be fair if they could since he is doing duties above and beyond that of the regular roster player.

  18. brandon Says:

    Tony,
    I am not sure but i believe any salary a Player/Assistant coach gets would go against the cap. All pay for them has to be reported and has to fit under cap. If we had just an assistant coach that didnt play his pay wouldn’t be against it. Kind of a crappy deal But i guess well have to look for Eneman to help relieve that situation. Sorry Hit I had to go there.

  19. Greg Says:

    Yeah Tony, I think either Blake or Justin covered this one when the whole salary cap issue came up and if Richardson is gettign extra for being the asst. coach it does go tword the cap.

  20. Heather Says:

    I guess I’ll disagree and say that Guy should not be captain but oh well nothing I can do to change it.

  21. Melissa Says:

    Heather,

    Why do you disagree that Guy should not be the captain? He is a great leader and a great player.

  22. Heather Says:

    For the sake of disagreeing with others lol otherwise its a great pick

  23. Heather Says:

    Tony mentioned something about everybody agreeing so I just had to throw that in there lol. Sorry I upset you.

  24. Hit Somebody!!! Says:

    Good Choices…Would have liked to have soon Jonathon Goodwin get one of the A’s though. I think he could be a great leader someday.

  25. Hit Somebody!!! Says:

    seen not soon

  26. Tony E Says:

    Lol Heather you are a troublemaker!! 😉
    Thanks all for the input on the cap thing I kind of thought they would have to count it because otherwise it could be used to circumvent the cap.

  27. blake Says:

    Hi gang, the Frankes would like the UHL to change that rule so an assistant coach can get more. As it is now, Bruce is getting about $1.25 an hour. There is some construction on US 30, but it’s not awful. A lot of it depends on what time of day you go through. There’s no construction on the toll road in Indiana, but there’s a ton in Illinois.

  28. Nanci Says:

    I was also wondering why Goodwin wouldn’t be an Asst. Captain! I think he would be a great “A”.. Blake, do you know if they offered it to anyone else first ..that possibly declined ..?

  29. Burgee Says:

    Congrats Guy

  30. Greg Says:

    Anybody see the new away jersey yet., The sleeves are cool but still the basic black which I don’t like.

  31. Junior Says:

    Those Jersey’s are the ugliest things that I have ever seen!! And putting them next to the great Jersey’s from the past just proves it. It’s like a WWE stunt. I hope they never wear those at home.

  32. Hoss Says:

    Where have you seen the new jerseys?

  33. Greg Says:

    The News Sentianl website has it and I agree I don’t like it much. Unfortunatley Junior we have to see them in December as that is away jersey month.

  34. Junior Says:

    News Sentinel and they have a pic on the page before this. Very saddened. I also read where the Franke’s may change their home uni’s to a similar style next season. They are nasty, I liked the FW fireball they wore last year.

  35. Jeff Says:

    As a “third” jersey, this one may be OK. As a regularly-used jersey, in my opinion, it STINKS!

    Maybe it won’t sell and they’ll switch it next year. I know I won’t be buying one. I’ll save my money instead for the orange Captain Komet version.

    Unfortunately, many professional teams have tried (and in my opinion) failed with new looks. Granted, it’s OK to tweak uniforms now and then, but have you seen those new Buffalo Sabres uniforms? They went back to blue and yellow, but the jerseys are hideous. The Boston Bruins need to go back to the 1970s style (Bobby Orr being tripped after scoring the winning goal in the 1970 finals). Like them or not, Anaheim at least had a unique color scheme. This year, they’ve joined the “black intimidates” crowd. Now, they look more to me like the Washington Capitals, who by the way, need to go back to red, white and blue.

    I hope and pray Nike never gets the NHL jersey contract or we’ll be subjected to uniforms with more non-traditional striping patterns and vertical stripes on the socks (like those God-awful Olympic unis).

  36. Jeff Says:

    The new jerseys were made by Athletic Knit and are featured in the company’s latest catalog. Web address is athleticknit.com (I Googled this), click on Bernard Athletic Knit and load the catalog.

    The site also has jerseys the company produced for Kalamazoo, Flint and Port Huron, including specialty versions (St. Patrick’s Day for Kalamazoo and Port Huron, blue jersey for Kalamazoo and 10th anniversary for Flint).

  37. Junior Says:

    Jeff, I agree. How about the ugly 04 Stanley Cup winners hoisting up the cup with those gross colors. One NHL expansion team that has done a good job going to the older style is Phoenix. I am very pissed off. I would write the “fansideas” @ Komets.com but I didn’t get a response the last time. Thanks for caring K’s. This is a way to make the Franke’s more money, NO ONE WILL BUY THEM IF THEY ARE THIS DISGUSTING LOOKING!!!!!!!!!!

  38. JuniorJ Says:

    It’s about as bad as when Kent Horman desided to talk over the P.A. in the finals against Musk. He pretty much said that he is a classless guy and represented our community very poorly. Way to go Capt. No Class Kent.

  39. Jeff Says:

    Junior,
    You’re right about Phoenix – that is a case of a good re-design of a uniform.

    Pittsburgh and St. Louis are other examples of reviving or keeping classic elements (the skating Penguin and the Blue note) without ruining the overall look.

    Two teams I would throw under the bus, however, are Philadelphia and Los Angeles. The Flyers need to go back to the Broad Street Bullies look of the mid 70s. The Kings need to revive their classic crown of the 1970s, but without the gold pants The crown they use now looks more like a spittoon compared to the regal one they had.

    Personally, I like the older, simple designs. Montreal, Detroit, Chicago, Toronto and the NY Rangers are just classic. There should be a rule they can’t wreck their designs.

  40. Junior Says:

    There would be an uproar in Chi-town and in any of those city’s if they changed their uniforms. Buffalo has those great blue/yellow jersey’s from the 70’s 80’s and 90’s, and I read that a lot of people aren’t happy at all with it. I just emailed fanideas@komets.com twice, I think if others feel the same way, they should do the same, or we will have home Jersey’s that look like that next year.

  41. hobo Says:

    yah the jersey may be a lil ugly but i dont really go to the games to check out what they are wearing….i dont think it is worth gettin all worked up over….chill guys its only a jersey….

  42. Jeff Says:

    I didn’t think I was all worked up.

    I just wish they could have come up with something better than that. Like I posted earlier, it may be OK as a third jersey (occasional use), but not a main one.

  43. Junior Says:

    I am worked up! It’s embarrassing!

  44. Jungle Monkey Says:

    Somebody que the Gary Glitter “Hey, your jerseys suck!”

  45. FiveMinuteMajor Says:

    Hmmm…. the new jersey looks a little weird in the picture, but I’ll wait until I see them in person to say for sure. Right now I’ll call it “interesting”.

  46. Yves Dupuis Says:

    Hi Folks,

    Was just checking in on my cousin from up here in the great white north. Nice to see support and the “C” on his sweater


Leave a Reply

